- Dr.phil.nat., Dr.-Ing.E.h. Lothar Rohde -



Selected honors:

  • 1953 honorary doctorate from the Technical University of Munich
  • 1967 the large federal Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • 1968 Oskar-von-Miller-Medal of the German Museum
  • 1971 Gold Medal "Munich shines - the Friends of Munich
  • 1976 the highest Austrian civilian honor, the Grand Golden Decoration
  • 1982 State Medal for outstanding services to the Bavarian economy
  • 1982 Morris E. Leeds Award of the IEEE
  • 1984 Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art
  • 1984 honorary member of the Bavarian Academy of Science
  • 2006 Technical University of Munich honors Lothar Rohde's 100th anniversary with the inauguration of Lothar Rohde-auditorium


Lothar Rohde was born in the year 1906 as the son of the chemist Dr. phil. nat. Albert Rohde and Sibille Rohde (nee Kahn). After attending high school in Leverkusen, Lothar Rohde studied physics first in Cologne and then in Jena, where he received his Ph.D. in 1931, at the age of 25.

After working at Siemens & Halske and at AEG, Lothar Rohde decided in 1933 together with his university friend Dr. Hermann Schwarz to found the Physikalisch-Technisches Entwicklungslabor Dr. Rohde & Dr. Schwarz (PTE). Having started the company out of a flat in the Thierschstraße in Munich, after 6 years the PTE already had 100 employees.

During the II. world war Lothar Rohde was captured and imprisoned in the Nazi concentration camp Dachau. In 1945 he freed himself in a heroic way. His prison cell still exsists today.

In 1945 the US-Army placed a large order with the PTE, renamed to Rohde & Schwarz (R&S) in the same year, which secured the firms existence. In 1948 Lothar Rohde was one of the founding members of the Export-Club Bayern, which he lead as president for 30 years. Before the age of free trade, the Export-Club Bayern was Germany´s most important trading organisation. Lothar Rohde was also a founding member of the “Zentralverbandes der Elektrotechnischen Industrie“ (ZVEI) and the German section of the Instituts of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). In 1952 Lothar Rohde joined Deutsche Bank's advisory board and became president in 1972.

The wealth of patents and publications underscores Lothar Rohde´s scientific genius. What others could not even think of at the dawn of the electrical age, Lothar Rohde scientifically proved to the world. Next to other inventions, Lothar Rohde invented the first portable quartz watch, the first European UKW-radio, the first line assembly UKW-radio and the world´s first weather satellite station.

Rohde & Schwarz today is a leading high tech electronics conglomerate and world leader in the areas of mobile phone and EMV test and measurement solutions with approximately 10.000 employees. (rohde-schwarz.com)

His hobbies included amateur radio, sailing with his family, playing piano with the best musicians of his time and skiing in Switzerland. Dr. Hermann Schwarz, Prof. Dr. Rolf Rodenstock and Burkhard Nadolny were among his closest friends.

Lothar Rohde is survived by one daughter, Eugénie, and one son, Ulrich - both partners of Rohde & Schwarz.

In 1983 Lothar Rohde responded to the press: “I never worked for money in my life, only for the subjects I enjoyed; money only was a necessary side appearance.”

- Dr.phil.nat., Dr.-Ing.E.h. Lothar Rohde -



Ausgewählte Ehrungen:

  • 1953 Ehrendoktorwürde der Technischen Universität München
  • 1967 der große Bundesverdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
  • 1968 Oskar-von-Miller-Medaille des Deutschen Museums
  • 1971 Goldmedaille "München leuchtet - Den Freunden Münchens'
  • 1976 höchste österreichische Zivilorden, das große goldene Ehrenzeichen
  • 1982 Staatsmedaille für besondere Verdienste um die bayerische Wirtschaft
  • 1982 Morris E. Leeds Award des IEEE
  • 1984 Bayerischen Maximiliansordens für Wissenschaft und Kunst
  • 1984 Ehrenmitglied der Bayrischen Akademie der Wissenschaft
  • 2006 Technischen Universität München würdigt Lothar Rohdes 100. Geburtstag mit der Einweihung des Lothar-Rohde-Hörsaals


Lothar Rohde wurde im Jahr 1906 als Sohn des Chemikers Dr. phil. nat. Albert Rohde und Sibille Rohde (geb. Kahn) geboren. Nach dem Abitur an einem Leverkusener Gymnasium trat er zunächst das Physikstudium in Köln an. Anschließend studierte er in Jena, wo er 1931 mit 25 Jahren zum Dr. phil. nat. promivierte.

Nach einer Tätigkeit bei Siemens & Halske und bei AEG entschloss sich Lothar Rohde 1933 mit seinem Studienfreund Dr. Hermann Schwarz das physikalisch-technische Entwicklungslabor Dr. L. Rohde & Dr. H. Schwarz (PTE) zu gründen. Das anfänglich aus einer Wohnung in der Münchener Thierschstraße betriebene Labor konnte in den ersten Jahren mehrere Erfolge verbuchen und hatte bereits nach 6 Jahren 100 Mitarbeiter.

Während des II. Weltkrieges wurde Lothar Rohde im KZ Dachau inhaftiert. 1945 konnte er sich auf abenteuerliche Weise befreien. Seine Zelle in Dachau kann heute noch besichtigt werden.

Nachdem 1945 die Geschäftsaktivitäten wieder aufgenommen wurden erteilte die US-Army einen Großauftrag, der den Fortbestand der Firma sicherte. Im gleichen Jahr wurde die Firma in Rohde & Schwarz (R&S) umbenannt. Lothar Rohde gehörte 1948 zu den Gründern des Export-Clubs Bayern, dem er als erster Präsident 30 Jahre lang vorstand. Vor dem Zeitalter des freien Handels war der Export-Club Bayern Deutschlands wichtigste internationale Handelsorganisation. Er war Mitbegründer des Zentralverbandes der Elektrotechnischen Industrie (ZVEI) und der deutschen Sektion des Instituts of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Seit 1952 gehörte Lothar Rohde dem Beirat der Deutschen Bank an, 1972 übernahm er dessen Vorsitz.

Zahlreiche Patente und Veröffentlichungen zeugen von Lothar Rohdes naturwissenschaftlichen Genius. Was andere in der Anfangszeit der Elektronik noch nicht einmal zu denken wagten, setzte er in die Tat um. Lothar Rohde ist unter anderem Erfinder der ersten tragbaren Quarzuhr, der ersten UKW-Sendestation Europas, des ersten serienreifen UKW-Radiogeräts und der ersten automatischen Wettersatellitenempfangsstation der Welt.

Die von Lothar Rohde gegründete Firma Rohde & Schwarz ist heute ein führender internationaler Elektronikkonzern und Weltmarktführer im Bereich Mobilfunk- und EMV-Messtechnik mit ca. 10.000 Mitarbeitern. (rohde-schwarz.de)

Seine größten Hobbies waren der Amateurfunk, das Segeln mit seiner Familie, das Klavierspielen mit den besten Musikern seiner Zeit und das Skifahren in der Schweiz. Dr. Hermann Schwarz, Prof. Dr. Rolf Rodenstock und Burkhard Nadolny zählten zu seinen engsten Freunden.

Lothar Rohde hinterließ eine Tochter, Eugénie und einen Sohn, Ulrich - beide Mitinhaber der Firma Rohde & Schwarz.

1983 antwortete Lothar Rohde der Presse: „Ich habe eigentlich im Leben niemals für Geld gearbeitet, sondern immer nur für die Sache, die mir Spass gemacht hat; Geld war dabei nur eine notwendige Randerscheinung!“